KUER News Team Wins 9 Society of Professional Journalists Awards

Jul 3, 2014

The Utah Headliners chapter of the Society of Professional  Journalists recognized KUER's outstanding work in local news coverage and radio journalism with a total of 9 awards for pieces that aired in 2013.  Topping the list are the awards brought home for the Best Radio Reporter of the Year.  KUER reporters swept the category with Dan Bammes receiving 1st place, Andrea Smardon 2nd place and Whittney Evans 3rd place.  The news staff also claimed awards for beat reporting, continuing coverage and feature reporting.  Here is a complete list of KUER winners:

Best Radio Reporter:

  • Dan Bammes, 1st
  • Andrea Smardon, 2nd
  • Whittney Evans, 3rd

Best Education Reporting

  • Whittney Evans- 1st

Best Government Reporting

Best General Feature

Best Continuing Coverage

  • Andrea Smardon- 1st- Continuing Coverage: Stericycle in NSL
  • Brian Grimmet- 3rd- Continuing Coverage: John Swallow Corruption

Best Radio Series