budget http://kuer.org en Audit Finds Error Cost State $100 Million in Property Taxe Revenues http://kuer.org/post/audit-finds-error-cost-state-100-million-property-taxe-revenues <p></p><p></p><p>Utah has missed out on approximately $100 million in property tax revenue over the past eight years because of an error in how property taxes are calculated. Now as the state moves to fix the problem, taxpayers will likely be asked to pay more.</p><p>The office of the state auditor released a study on Monday that details how local governments across the state have been miscalculating new commercial and residential growth, thus driving down the certified tax rate. David Stringfellow is Chief Economist for the state auditor’s office.</p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 00:32:31 +0000 Whittney Evans 49275 at http://kuer.org Audit Finds Error Cost State $100 Million in Property Taxe Revenues Maintenance, Fire-Station Closure Sticking Points For SLC Budget http://kuer.org/post/maintenance-fire-station-closure-sticking-points-slc-budget <p></p><p>Salt Lake City Mayor Ralph Becker unveiled his $229 million budget Tuesday for the next fiscal year. It includes a 3 percent pay raise for city employees and funding for air quality initiatives. But it also proposes some cuts the city council may resist.</p> Wed, 07 May 2014 22:08:48 +0000 Whittney Evans 45995 at http://kuer.org Maintenance, Fire-Station Closure Sticking Points For SLC Budget Governor's Budget Proposal Focuses On Education http://kuer.org/post/governors-budget-proposal-focuses-education <p>Utah Governor Gary Herbert released his 2015 budget proposal today at Utah Valley University in Orem and its main focus is on increased education funding.</p><p>For the 2015 fiscal year the Governor’s office of Management and Budget projects the state will receive $338 million dollars in new money. Governor Herbert’s proposal calls for more than 75% of it to go towards education.</p> Wed, 04 Dec 2013 21:16:30 +0000 Brian Grimmett 39093 at http://kuer.org Governor's Budget Proposal Focuses On Education Governor's Office Forecasts $200 Million Increase in Ongoing Revenue http://kuer.org/post/governors-office-forecasts-200-million-increase-ongoing-revenue <p>In preparation for the release of the Governor’s budget, members of his staff gathered at the Capitol today to talk about how much money the state could and should spend in the next year.</p> Mon, 25 Nov 2013 23:54:46 +0000 Karina Puikonnen 38713 at http://kuer.org Governor's Office Forecasts $200 Million Increase in Ongoing Revenue Mayor Becker Vetoes SLC Budget http://kuer.org/post/mayor-becker-vetoes-slc-budget-0 <p></p> Thu, 20 Jun 2013 00:06:08 +0000 Terry Gildea 31201 at http://kuer.org Mayor Becker Vetoes SLC Budget Utah Budget Projections Lower than Previously Expected http://kuer.org/post/utah-budget-projections-lower-previously-expected <p>Utah’s latest revenue projections released today at the state legislature are slightly lower than previously expected.</p> Mon, 25 Feb 2013 22:42:39 +0000 Brian Grimmett 25527 at http://kuer.org Utah Budget Projections Lower than Previously Expected Senator Hatch Brings "Unhappy News" to House Chamber http://kuer.org/post/senator-hatch-brings-unhappy-news-house-chamber <p>Utah Senator Orrin Hatch visited state representatives in the House Wednesday to deliver what he called unhappy news. He says the Sequester, the automatic across-the-board spending cuts, will happen and it will be a difficult thing, especially for civilian employees at Hill Air Force Base.</p><p>”and it’s certainly going to hit a lot of small contractors and it’s also going to hit our workforce up there, is about two thirds civilian. So if you can imagine we’ve got to be prepared for whatever comes,”says Hatch.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 20 Feb 2013 23:11:32 +0000 Bob Nelson 25303 at http://kuer.org Senator Hatch Brings "Unhappy News" to House Chamber Council Postpones Vote on 2013 Budget http://kuer.org/post/council-postpones-vote-2013-budget <p></p><p></p><p>A clerical error led the Salt Lake County Council to delay a vote last night to approve next years budget. They'll instead address the issue tonight &nbsp;But the council did make time for one last round of public comment on the budget, which includes a 16.2 percent property tax increase.</p><p>During a public hearing on Tuesday, the council heard only passionate testimonies of disapproval for the increase, which amounts to an additional $59 a year for the average home owner. Last night was no different. Councilman Steve DeBry&nbsp;addressed members of the public.</p> Sat, 15 Dec 2012 00:19:25 +0000 Whittney Evans 22369 at http://kuer.org State Lawmakers Revise Education Budget in Special Session http://kuer.org/post/state-lawmakers-revise-education-budget-special-session <p>Utah Lawmakers were able to find the funds necessary to fill a $25 million gap in Utah&rsquo;s education budget that officials failed to catch during the 2012 legislative session. The House and Senate voted unanimously, during a special session of the legislature Wednesday to approve adjustments to next year&rsquo;s budget.</p> Thu, 21 Jun 2012 16:01:08 +0000 Whittney Evans 13810 at http://kuer.org State Lawmakers Revise Education Budget in Special Session Salt Lake City Council Close to Decision on Metered Parking http://kuer.org/post/salt-lake-city-council-close-decision-metered-parking <p>On-street parking in downtown Salt Lake City may no longer be free after 6:00 p.m., on Saturdays, and during the December Holiday season. A straw poll of the City Council suggests there is support for these changes - as well as higher rates.</p> Wed, 06 Jun 2012 22:26:54 +0000 Andrea Smardon 13061 at http://kuer.org Salt Lake City Council Close to Decision on Metered Parking