public safety http://kuer.org en Police Partner With Community in New Surveilance Effort to Clean Up the Depot District http://kuer.org/post/police-partner-community-new-surveilance-effort-clean-depot-district <p></p><p>The Salt Lake City Police Department is working with local businesses and homeowners to stamp out crime in and around Pioneer Park…with video cameras.</p> Fri, 25 Apr 2014 22:29:06 +0000 Whittney Evans 45433 at http://kuer.org Police Partner With Community in New Surveilance Effort to Clean Up the Depot District UTA, First Responders Stage Sugarhouse Streetcar Safety Drill http://kuer.org/post/uta-first-responders-stage-sugarhouse-streetcar-safety-drill <p></p><p>Local police and firemen performed a safety drill this morning (Tuesday) in preparation for the opening of the new Sugar House Streetcar TRAX line.</p> Tue, 12 Nov 2013 22:44:54 +0000 Nicole Nixon 38112 at http://kuer.org UTA, First Responders Stage Sugarhouse Streetcar Safety Drill Matthew David Stewart Found Dead in Jail Cell http://kuer.org/post/matthew-david-stewart-found-dead-jail-cell <p></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Family members say they are shattered by the suicide of Matthew David Stewart, the 39-year-old Ogden man accused of shooting and killing a police officer and injuring five others during a January 2012 drug raid. Stewart was found hanging in his jail cell early this morning.</span></p> Fri, 24 May 2013 22:00:45 +0000 Whittney Evans 29830 at http://kuer.org Matthew David Stewart Found Dead in Jail Cell Number of Youth in Jail Declining http://kuer.org/post/number-youth-jail-declining <p></p><p></p><p>The number of young people in Utah who are going to jail is declining according to a new report by the Annie E. Casey Foundation’s National Kid’s Count Project.&nbsp; The report shows the decline is about on pace with the majority of the United States. But&nbsp;the progress could be cut short because of budget cuts.</p> Thu, 28 Feb 2013 00:43:00 +0000 Whittney Evans 25587 at http://kuer.org Number of Youth in Jail Declining KUER News Pod: Friday February 1, 2013 http://kuer.org/post/kuer-news-pod-friday-february-1-2013 <p>A Utah legislator tries to give more control to individual schools, speed limits on I-15 and I-80 could be getting higher, and Senator Orrin Hatch proposes a high-skilled immigration bill.<br><iframe frameborder="no" height="166" scrolling="no" src="https://w.soundcloud.com/player/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fapi.soundcloud.com%2Ftracks%2F77431453&amp;color=98091a&amp;auto_play=false&amp;show_artwork=true" width="100%"></iframe></p> Fri, 01 Feb 2013 19:05:44 +0000 Brian Grimmett 24416 at http://kuer.org KUER News Pod: Friday February 1, 2013 Report Details Domestic Violence Deaths in 2012 http://kuer.org/post/report-details-domestic-violence-deaths-2012 <p></p> Wed, 02 Jan 2013 23:47:46 +0000 Whittney Evans 23096 at http://kuer.org KUER News Pod: Monday December 10, 2012 http://kuer.org/post/kuer-news-pod-monday-december-10-2012 <p>Salt Lake City’s new public safety building nears completion, the Utah Attorney General’s Office lets two former DABC executives off the hook, and Utah State basketball player Danny Berger is released from the hospital.<br><iframe frameborder="no" height="166" scrolling="no" src="https://w.soundcloud.com/player/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fapi.soundcloud.com%2Ftracks%2F70732726&amp;color=98091a&amp;auto_play=false&amp;show_artwork=true" width="100%"></iframe></p> Mon, 10 Dec 2012 20:00:36 +0000 Brian Grimmett 22138 at http://kuer.org KUER News Pod: Monday December 10, 2012 Salt Lake City Public Safety Building Nears Completion http://kuer.org/post/salt-lake-city-public-safety-building-nears-completion <p></p><p></p><p>Salt Lake City’s new public safety building is expected to produce as much energy as it uses and bring the city’s Police, Fire, and Emergency Operations Departments closer together. &nbsp;Media donned hard hats and bright orange vests last week to tour the the building, which &nbsp;is&nbsp;slated for completion this June.</p> Mon, 10 Dec 2012 17:07:50 +0000 Whittney Evans 22124 at http://kuer.org Salt Lake City Public Safety Building Nears Completion