Campaign Finance http://kuer.org en Swallow Scandal Results in Campaign Finance Changes http://kuer.org/post/swallow-scandal-results-campaign-finance-changes <p>The scandal surrounding former Utah Attorney General John Swallow not only ended in his resignation, but also brought about several changes to Utah’s campaign finance reporting laws.&nbsp;</p><p>The House’s investigation into John Swallow came with a price tag of about $4 million. A cost House Speaker Becky Lockhart says was well worth it.</p><p>“It was a high cost, but we cannot put a price on public trust," she says. "One does not cut corners when the very integrity of the justice system is at question.”</p> Fri, 14 Mar 2014 06:14:26 +0000 Brian Grimmett 43367 at http://kuer.org Swallow Scandal Results in Campaign Finance Changes House Committee Debuts First Bills to Come Out of Swallow Investigation http://kuer.org/post/house-committee-debuts-first-bills-come-out-swallow-investigation <p class="p1">Candidates for state office and the Utah legislature could soon be required to disclose a lot more information when they run for office, and they’ll have former Utah Attorney General John Swallow to thank for it.</p> Wed, 12 Feb 2014 23:05:57 +0000 Brian Grimmett 42076 at http://kuer.org House Committee Debuts First Bills to Come Out of Swallow Investigation Utah Legislator Proposes $10K Limit to Campaign Contributions http://kuer.org/post/utah-legislator-proposes-10k-limit-campaign-contributions <p>The state Government Operations interim committee will be taking a look at a bi-partisan proposal Wednesday to put a limit on campaign contributions.</p> Tue, 16 Jul 2013 22:26:50 +0000 Brian Grimmett 32520 at http://kuer.org Utah Legislator Proposes $10K Limit to Campaign Contributions KUER News Pod: Thursday November 1, 2012 http://kuer.org/post/kuer-news-pod-thursday-november-1-2012 <p>Redistricting adds to the intrigue of Utah’s 68th district race, Lieutenant Governor candidates debate about the economy and education, and the 4th Congressional race breaks a Utah record.<br><iframe src="http://w.soundcloud.com/player/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fapi.soundcloud.com%2Ftracks%2F65689548&amp;auto_play=false&amp;show_artwork=true&amp;color=98091a" frameborder="no" height="166" scrolling="no" width="100%"></iframe></p> Thu, 01 Nov 2012 18:09:03 +0000 Brian Grimmett 20447 at http://kuer.org KUER News Pod: Thursday November 1, 2012 Independent Candidates Fight to be Heard in Utah http://kuer.org/post/independent-candidates-fight-be-heard-utah <p></p><p>Utah has three independent candidates running for Congress this election.&nbsp; But most voters haven’t seen a single ad or billboard about their campaigns.&nbsp; For a candidate with no funds or party support, it’s an uphill battle to get a message out.&nbsp; This story looks at what it means to be an independent candidate in Utah.</p> Thu, 25 Oct 2012 05:18:51 +0000 Andrea Smardon 20170 at http://kuer.org Independent Candidates Fight to be Heard in Utah Scott Howell Says Orrin Hatch’s Campaign Money is a Problem for Utah http://kuer.org/post/scott-howell-says-orrin-hatch-s-campaign-money-problem-utah <p>Senator Orrin Hatch won the Utah Republican primary, and spent 10 million dollars in the process. Now, Democratic challenger Scott Howell aims to turn that money against the incumbent Senator. Howell says Hatch’s significant campaign war chest is not a problem for him. It’s a problem for the people of Utah.</p> Wed, 27 Jun 2012 21:55:31 +0000 Andrea Smardon 14133 at http://kuer.org Scott Howell Says Orrin Hatch’s Campaign Money is a Problem for Utah