Avenue H http://kuer.org en Arches Health Plan Offers Non-Profit Alternative for Utahns http://kuer.org/post/arches-health-plan-offers-non-profit-alternative-utahns <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Open enrollment for the new health exchange marketplace starts October </span>1<sup>st</sup><span style="line-height: 1.5;">, and Utahns will have a variety of options for health insurance. Among the choices is a new insurance provider called Arches Health Plan.&nbsp; Arches is a non-profit cooperative governed by its members.&nbsp; Joining KUER in studio is the CEO Linn Baker, who has a long history with healthcare in Utah.&nbsp; He was founder and executive of the state&rsquo;s Public Employee&#39;s Health Program for more than three decades.</span></p> Sun, 29 Sep 2013 16:41:00 +0000 Andrea Smardon 36023 at http://kuer.org Arches Health Plan Offers Non-Profit Alternative for Utahns 99 Plans Offered on Federal Health Insurance Marketplace in Utah http://kuer.org/post/99-plans-offered-federal-health-insurance-marketplace-utah <p></p><p>Some information was released Thursday about how the Affordable Care Act will impact Utah consumers. Utahns shopping for health insurance on the new federal online marketplace will have 99 plan choices. The state insurance department provided an estimate for what these options will cost Utah consumers. They also compared prices to the state’s exchange for small businesses known as Avenue H. &nbsp;</p> Thu, 22 Aug 2013 23:40:43 +0000 Andrea Smardon 34339 at http://kuer.org 99 Plans Offered on Federal Health Insurance Marketplace in Utah Regence BlueCross BlueShield Drops Out of Utah Exchange http://kuer.org/post/regence-bluecross-blueshield-drops-out-utah-exchange <p></p><p>One of Utah’s largest health insurance companies, <a href="http://www.regence.com/UT/index.jsp">Regence BlueCross BlueShield</a>, will no longer be selling its plans on <a href="http://www.avenueh.com/">Avenue H</a>, the state’s exchange for small businesses.</p> Wed, 14 Aug 2013 22:24:20 +0000 Andrea Smardon 33952 at http://kuer.org Regence BlueCross BlueShield Drops Out of Utah Exchange Utah to be First State with Dual-Model Health Insurance Exchange http://kuer.org/post/utah-be-first-state-dual-model-health-insurance-exchange <p>Utah has come to an agreement with the US Department of Health and Human Services on how it will run its exchange – or health insurance marketplace. HHS has approved Utah’s first-of-its-kind proposal to split state and federal responsibilities. Under the agreement, Utah will continue running the state exchange known as <a href="http://www.avenueh.com/index.php">Avenue H</a> for small businesses. The federal government will run a separate exchange for individual consumers.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 10 May 2013 21:29:45 +0000 Andrea Smardon 29105 at http://kuer.org Utah to be First State with Dual-Model Health Insurance Exchange Utah Lawmakers May Consider a Partnership Health Exchange http://kuer.org/post/utah-lawmakers-may-consider-partnership-health-exchange <p>Federal officials have given preliminary approval for Utah to run its own health insurance exchange marketplace, but some state lawmakers say they don’t want to run the exchange under the feds’ rules.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 04 Jan 2013 23:38:27 +0000 Andrea Smardon 23198 at http://kuer.org Utah Lawmakers May Consider a Partnership Health Exchange Utah's Avenue H Gets Conditional Approval from Feds http://kuer.org/post/utahs-avenue-h-gets-conditional-approval-feds <p>The federal government has conditionally approved Utah’s health insurance exchange known as Avenue H.&nbsp; But the feds say more work needs to be done for the state-based exchange to be compliant with the Affordable Care Act.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 03 Jan 2013 22:36:08 +0000 Andrea Smardon 23144 at http://kuer.org Utah’s Health System Reform Task Force Ends with Unanswered Questions http://kuer.org/post/utah-s-health-system-reform-task-force-ends-unanswered-questions <p></p><p>The state’s Health System Reform Task Force had its final meeting Monday before the legislative session, but questions remain about health reform &nbsp;- in particular, who will run Utah’s health insurance exchange.</p> Tue, 18 Dec 2012 20:17:19 +0000 Andrea Smardon 22508 at http://kuer.org Herbert Asks Obama to Leave Utah's Healthcare Exchange As Is http://kuer.org/post/herbert-asks-obama-leave-utahs-healthcare-exchange <p>Governor Gary Herbert sent a letter to President Barack Obama Tuesday morning asking the federal government to let Utah keep Avenue H, the state’s health insurance exchange, without making changes to it.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 11 Dec 2012 23:55:10 +0000 Andrea Smardon 22201 at http://kuer.org A Health Exchange by Any Other Name... http://kuer.org/post/health-exchange-any-other-name <p>Utah’s Health Exchange has a new name, along with a new website.&nbsp; State leaders say they want to distance themselves from the Affordable Care Act.&nbsp; Starting Thursday, the program which connects small businesses with health insurance carriers will be called Avenue H.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 04 Oct 2012 20:46:11 +0000 Andrea Smardon 19248 at http://kuer.org