UDOT http://kuer.org en State Officials Help Kick Off 4th Annual Road Respect Tour http://kuer.org/post/state-officials-help-kick-4th-annual-road-respect-tour <p>Officials from the state legislature, the Utah Department of Transportation and the Utah Highway Patrol joined bicycle advocates to help kick off the annual <a href="http://roadrespect.utah.gov/" target="_blank">Road Respect tour</a>.</p> Mon, 12 May 2014 18:22:11 +0000 Brian Grimmett 46176 at http://kuer.org State Officials Help Kick Off 4th Annual Road Respect Tour BYU Researchers Help UDOT Pinpoint Safety Hotspots on Utah's Roads http://kuer.org/post/byu-researchers-help-udot-pinpoint-safety-hotspots-utahs-roads <p>A group of researchers at Brigham Young University have developed an advanced traffic safety model that’s helping UDOT make Utah roads safer.</p><p>Grant Schultz is an associate professor of civil engineering at BYU. He was on the team of researchers that has spent the last 5 years developing the model. He says the tool will help the Utah Department of Transportation save lives.</p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 21:09:18 +0000 Brian Grimmett 45242 at http://kuer.org BYU Researchers Help UDOT Pinpoint Safety Hotspots on Utah's Roads UDOT Campaign Sets Its Sights on Teen Crash Fatalities http://kuer.org/post/udot-campaign-sets-its-sights-teen-crash-fatalities <p>The Utah Department of Health and Department of Transportation announced &nbsp;an initiative to decrease the number of vehicle related fatalities among youth. Car accidents remain the leading cause of teen fatalities in the state. Last year 21 of the 217 Utahns who lost their lives in car accidents were teenagers.</p> Wed, 23 Oct 2013 22:42:42 +0000 Karina Puikkonen 37189 at http://kuer.org UDOT Campaign Sets Its Sights on Teen Crash Fatalities UDOT Considers Comments on West Davis Freeway http://kuer.org/post/udot-considers-comments-west-davis-freeway <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>The public comment deadline has passed on <a href="http://www.udot.utah.gov/westdavis/">Utah Department of Transportation’s proposal</a> to build a freeway from Farmington to Hooper.&nbsp; Critics of the West Davis Corridor say UDOT needs to back up and take another look.</p> Mon, 23 Sep 2013 19:32:08 +0000 Dan Bammes 35802 at http://kuer.org UDOT Considers Comments on West Davis Freeway Rock Slide Damages Road in Little Cottonwood Canyon http://kuer.org/post/rock-slide-damages-road-little-cottonwood-canyon <p>Little Cottonwood Canyon is open to traffic again after several rockslides blocked the roads this morning.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">Utah Department of Transportation work crews began clearing the slides from the roads around 3:30 a.m. The major slides occurred about halfway up the canyon and covered the roads with rocks, mud, and debris. At the worst location, runoff water also caused parts of the shoulder to break away from the road. Still, UDOT spokesperson Adan Carrillo says no significant damage was done to the road.</span></p> Fri, 05 Jul 2013 21:17:14 +0000 Brian Grimmett 31953 at http://kuer.org Rock Slide Damages Road in Little Cottonwood Canyon Governor Appoints New UDOT Director http://kuer.org/post/governor-appoints-new-udot-director <p>After a nationwide search Governor Gary Herbert has appointed Carlos Braceras as the new director of the Utah Department of Transportation.</p><p>Braceras has worked for UDOT for almost 27 years and until today’s appointment had spent the past 12 as UDOT’s deputy director working directly under former director, John Njord. Braceras says as the new head of UDOT one of his main focuses will be to create better relationships with local communities.</p> Mon, 06 May 2013 21:19:44 +0000 Brian Grimmett 28863 at http://kuer.org Governor Appoints New UDOT Director UDOT Signs Silent on Air Quality http://kuer.org/post/udot-signs-silent-air-quality <p>Two events that attract tens of thousands of visitors to Utah are taking place this week: The<a href="http://www.sundance.org/festival/"> Sundance Film Festival</a> and the winter <a href="http://www.outdoorretailer.com/winter-market/">Outdoor Retailers</a> show. Some activist groups are wondering if there's an effort to avoid drawing attention to the state's lousy air quality while they're in town.</p> Mon, 21 Jan 2013 19:13:49 +0000 Dan Bammes 23866 at http://kuer.org UDOT Signs Silent on Air Quality State Street Renovation Nears Completion http://kuer.org/post/state-street-renovation-nears-completion <p>Officials from the Utah Department of Transportation and two Utah cities gathered to mark progress on a renovation of State Street in South Salt Lake County.</p> Thu, 27 Sep 2012 17:41:33 +0000 Todd Patton 18897 at http://kuer.org State Street Renovation Nears Completion KUER News Pod: Wednesday September 26, 2012 http://kuer.org/post/kuer-news-pod-wednesday-september-26-2012 Governor Gary Herbert goes on a diet, renovations of State Street in South Salt Lake County near completion, and electric motorcycles hit a road near you. <br/> <iframe width="100%" height="166" scrolling="no" frameborder="no" src="http://w.soundcloud.com/player/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fapi.soundcloud.com%2Ftracks%2F61285612&amp;auto_play=false&amp;show_artwork=true&amp;color=98091a"></iframe> Wed, 26 Sep 2012 21:39:00 +0000 Brian Grimmett 18858 at http://kuer.org KUER News Pod: Wednesday September 26, 2012