climate change http://kuer.org en Changing Climate Prompts New Warnings, Local Planning http://kuer.org/post/changing-climate-prompts-new-warnings-local-planning <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>The world’s leading climate scientists and policymakers met in Japan over the weekend and released their <a href="http://www.nytimes.com/2014/04/01/science/earth/climate.html?hp&amp;_r=0" target="_blank">latest assessment of global warming</a>. They agree the climate is heating up because people burn so much fossil fuel.</p><p>Here in Utah, leaders are brainstorming about how to deal with the changing climate.</p> Mon, 31 Mar 2014 22:40:09 +0000 Judy Fahys 44187 at http://kuer.org Changing Climate Prompts New Warnings, Local Planning Writer Considers Clean Coal in Global Warming Fight http://kuer.org/post/writer-considers-clean-coal-global-warming-fight <p></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;"><a href="http://ngm.nationalgeographic.com/" target="_blank">National Geographic Magazine</a>’s latest cover story asks whether coal energy can be clean energy. It’s an important question for anyone concerned about climate change impacts and for states like Utah that mine coal for power plants.</span></p> Tue, 25 Mar 2014 23:52:13 +0000 Judy Fahys 43919 at http://kuer.org Writer Considers Clean Coal in Global Warming Fight Scientist: Fossil Plants Help Tell Planet's Past, Present and Future http://kuer.org/post/scientist-fossil-plants-help-tell-planets-past-present-and-future <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Fossils tell the story of the world’s past and the next Frontiers of Science lecture will explore what the fossils also say about current times and the future.</span></p> Tue, 18 Mar 2014 23:45:12 +0000 Judy Fahys 43578 at http://kuer.org Scientist: Fossil Plants Help Tell Planet's Past, Present and Future U Study: Low-Elevation Pikas Love Moss http://kuer.org/post/u-study-low-elevation-pikas-love-moss <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>Pikas are furry creatures related to rabbits that live in rockslide areas at the tops of mountains in the West.&nbsp; They’re not often found below about eight thousand feet.&nbsp; But a new study from the University of Utah has discovered how a population of pikas is thriving close to sea level. &nbsp;</p> Wed, 18 Dec 2013 19:29:56 +0000 Dan Bammes 39733 at http://kuer.org U Study: Low-Elevation Pikas Love Moss Bob Inglis: A Conservative Approach to Climate Change http://kuer.org/post/bob-inglis-conservative-approach-climate-change <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>Bob Inglis is a former Republican member of Congress from South Carolina, a conservative who was defeated by a candidate riding the Tea Party wave in 2010. &nbsp;He's gone on to lead the <a href="http://energyandenterprise.com/">Energy and Enterprise Initiative </a>at George Mason University in Virginia. Tue, 17 Sep 2013 16:42:00 +0000 Dan Bammes 35522 at http://kuer.org Bob Inglis: A Conservative Approach to Climate Change Independent Candidates Fight to be Heard in Utah http://kuer.org/post/independent-candidates-fight-be-heard-utah <p></p><p>Utah has three independent candidates running for Congress this election.&nbsp; But most voters haven’t seen a single ad or billboard about their campaigns.&nbsp; For a candidate with no funds or party support, it’s an uphill battle to get a message out.&nbsp; This story looks at what it means to be an independent candidate in Utah.</p> Thu, 25 Oct 2012 05:18:51 +0000 Andrea Smardon 20170 at http://kuer.org Independent Candidates Fight to be Heard in Utah U Study Finds a Stratospheric Connection to Climate Variability http://kuer.org/post/u-study-finds-stratospheric-connection-climate-variability <p>A University of Utah study shows that changes in the earth’s upper atmosphere have an impact on deep ocean circulation patterns in the North Atlantic.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 24 Sep 2012 17:39:32 +0000 Andrea Smardon 18715 at http://kuer.org U Study Finds a Stratospheric Connection to Climate Variability