mental health http://kuer.org en Audit Validates Salt Lake County’s New Behavioral Health Model http://kuer.org/post/audit-validates-salt-lake-county-s-new-behavioral-health-model <p></p><p>An <a href="http://slco.org/uploadedFiles/depot/fMayor/BehavioralHealth_Audit.pdf">independent audit </a>of Salt Lake County’s Behavioral Health Services system was released Tuesday. Officials say it validates the county’s move to a managed-care model.&nbsp; County Mayor Ben McAdams called for the audit last year following news that provider Valley Behavioral Health (VBH) would discontinue service to hundreds of patients due to budget cuts.</p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 22:37:20 +0000 Andrea Smardon 49328 at http://kuer.org Audit Validates Salt Lake County’s New Behavioral Health Model Salt Lake City Man in Recovery from Heroin Addiction Falls in Coverage Gap http://kuer.org/post/salt-lake-city-man-recovery-heroin-addiction-falls-coverage-gap <p></p> Thu, 20 Feb 2014 06:54:03 +0000 Andrea Smardon 42381 at http://kuer.org Salt Lake City Man in Recovery from Heroin Addiction Falls in Coverage Gap Agreement Stops Salt Lake County Mental Health Cuts for Now http://kuer.org/post/agreement-stops-salt-lake-county-mental-health-cuts-now <p>Salt Lake County Mayor Ben McAdams says an agreement has been reached that will prevent more patients from being dropped from Valley Mental Health’s client rolls.</p> Wed, 07 Aug 2013 16:14:40 +0000 Andrea Smardon 33558 at http://kuer.org Agreement Stops Salt Lake County Mental Health Cuts for Now Salt Lake County Council Approves Audit of Mental Health System http://kuer.org/post/salt-lake-county-council-approves-audit-mental-health-system <p></p><p>The Salt Lake County Council has unanimously approved an audit of its mental health care system.&nbsp; The decision comes after Valley Mental Health announced it would no longer serve hundreds of patients due to a reduction in funding.</p><p>Salt Lake County Council Chairman Steve Debry says he and other council members learned that Valley Mental Health would be shrinking its patient rolls by reading the newspaper.</p><p>“We were caught off guard and by surprise. To put it mildly, we’re upset with it,” Debry says. &nbsp;</p> Wed, 31 Jul 2013 23:28:17 +0000 Andrea Smardon 33253 at http://kuer.org Salt Lake County Council Approves Audit of Mental Health System Rose Park Event to Raise Awareness about Minority Mental Health http://kuer.org/post/rose-park-event-raise-awareness-about-minority-mental-health <p></p><p>Mental illness is often difficult for people to talk about, but especially hard if you don’t speak the same language as your health provider. Community groups are coming together in Salt Lake City’s Rose Park neighborhood Tuesday to raise awareness about minority mental health.&nbsp;</p><p>Mary Burchett is the Outreach Specialist for the National Alliance on Mental Illness or NAMI in Utah, an organization that provides free education, support and advocacy. She says minorities in Utah have particular challenges.</p> Mon, 15 Jul 2013 23:30:32 +0000 Andrea Smardon 32466 at http://kuer.org Rose Park Event to Raise Awareness about Minority Mental Health Remote Mental Health Care a Possibility with New House Bill http://kuer.org/post/remote-mental-health-care-possibility-new-house-bill <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span>The Utah House Health and Human Services Committee gave a favorable recommendation to a bill that would allow mental health and substance abuse counselors the ability to provide therapy remotely.</p> Wed, 30 Jan 2013 00:33:37 +0000 Brian Grimmett 24267 at http://kuer.org Remote Mental Health Care a Possibility with New House Bill Veterans Cut Ribbon on New Mental Health Outpatient Building http://kuer.org/post/veterans-cut-ribbon-new-mental-health-outpatient-building <p>The Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center in Salt Lake City cut the ribbon Friday on its new Mental Health Outpatient Building.</p> Fri, 03 Aug 2012 22:29:13 +0000 Andrea Smardon 16020 at http://kuer.org Veterans Cut Ribbon on New Mental Health Outpatient Building