Caucus http://kuer.org en Neighborhoods Hold State Party Caucuses This Week http://kuer.org/post/neighborhoods-hold-state-party-caucuses-week <p></p><p><a href="http://www.utgop.org/">State Republican</a> and <a href="http://www.utahdemocrats.org/">Democratic Party</a> Caucuses are this week. People will gather in neighborhoods across Utah to discuss candidates and issues and to elect their neighborhood delegate. Tuesday is the Democratic Party Caucus. Republicans meet on Thursday. Anna Thompson is the Communications Director for the Democratic Party. She says this is the smallest organizing unit in any election, so it’s very important for everyone to become involved.</p> Mon, 17 Mar 2014 20:33:46 +0000 Andrea Smardon & Bob Nelson 43516 at http://kuer.org Neighborhoods Hold State Party Caucuses This Week Count My Vote Compromise Heads to Governor’s Desk http://kuer.org/post/count-my-vote-compromise-heads-governor-s-desk <p></p><p>The Utah legislature has approved a compromise solution between the backers of a direct primary system and those who want to preserve the current caucus-convention system.</p> Wed, 05 Mar 2014 23:31:08 +0000 Andrea Smardon 42983 at http://kuer.org Count My Vote Compromise Heads to Governor’s Desk LDS Leaders Urge Participation in Party Caucuses http://kuer.org/post/lds-leaders-urge-participation-party-caucuses <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">As it did in 2012, the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is urging its members in Utah to participate in neighborhood caucuses for this election year.</span></p> Mon, 24 Feb 2014 21:17:21 +0000 Dan Bammes 42582 at http://kuer.org LDS Leaders Urge Participation in Party Caucuses State GOP Makes Changes to Neighborhood Caucuses http://kuer.org/post/state-gop-makes-changes-neighborhood-caucuses <p>Leaders of the Count My Vote initiative say they will continue to move forward with their efforts to replace the party caucuses with direct primaries even after state GOP delegates voted over the weekend to reform the current system.</p> Mon, 28 Oct 2013 21:20:57 +0000 Brian Grimmett 37389 at http://kuer.org State GOP Makes Changes to Neighborhood Caucuses Campaign Underway to Change Utah's System for Nominating Candidates http://kuer.org/post/campaign-underway-change-utahs-system-nominating-candidates <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>A group that wants to change Utah’s caucus-convention system for nominating candidates began its campaign this morning.&nbsp; <a href="http://countmyvoteutah.org/">Count My Vote</a> wants to allow candidates to qualify for primary election ballots using petitions signed by voters.</p> Wed, 18 Sep 2013 19:29:06 +0000 Dan Bammes 35591 at http://kuer.org Campaign Underway to Change Utah's System for Nominating Candidates Changes to Caucus/Convention System Taking Shape http://kuer.org/post/changes-caucusconvention-system-taking-shape <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">While Democrats piece together their own party-specific plans, a Republican group is preparing to file a statewide ballot initiative. &nbsp;</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Utah Democratic Party delegates voted last month to keep the caucus and convention system with the understanding that a committee of Democrats would spend the next year studying possible changes to the status quo.</span></p> Fri, 26 Jul 2013 21:34:24 +0000 Whittney Evans 33032 at http://kuer.org Changes to Caucus/Convention System Taking Shape