Terry Gildea http://kuer.org en 10th Circuit Denies Stay of Same Sex Marriage Recognition Case http://kuer.org/post/10th-circuit-denies-stay-same-sex-marriage-recognition-case <p></p> Sat, 12 Jul 2014 00:28:50 +0000 Terry Gildea 49162 at http://kuer.org Utah Attorney General Will Appeal 10th Circuit Ruling Directly to the Supreme Court http://kuer.org/post/utah-attorney-general-will-appeal-10th-circuit-ruling-directly-supreme-court <p></p><p>Officials with the Utah Attorney General’s office announced today that lawyers for the state will appeal the latest ruling against Amendment 3 directly to the U-S Supreme Court.</p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 21:46:20 +0000 Terry Gildea 49099 at http://kuer.org Podcaster Risks Excommunication For Defending Gay Mormons http://kuer.org/post/podcaster-risks-excommunication-defending-gay-mormons Leaders of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints are cracking down on members who openly dispute the doctrine of the faith. Earlier this week, a Mormon feminist was excommunicated for pursing membership in the all-male priesthood of the church. Now another member, John Dehlin, is facing the same fate — for questioning scripture and speaking out on behalf of gay Mormons.<p>Dehlin records a new episode of <a href="http://mormonstories.org/john-dehlin/">his podcast, Mormon Stories, </a>every week from his home office in North Logan, Utah. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 21:22:00 +0000 Terry Gildea 48478 at http://kuer.org Podcaster Risks Excommunication For Defending Gay Mormons Salt Lake Tribune Supporters Take Their Case to DC http://kuer.org/post/salt-lake-tribune-supporters-take-their-case-dc <p></p><p>A small group concerned about the future of The Salt Lake Tribune is in Washington, DC hoping to catch the attention of congressional lawmakers and officials at the Justice Department. &nbsp;</p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 13:52:35 +0000 Terry Gildea 48329 at http://kuer.org Salt Lake Tribune Supporters Take Their Case to DC Kelly Excommunicated from LDS Church http://kuer.org/post/kelly-excommunicated-lds-church <p></p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 21:04:55 +0000 Terry Gildea 48242 at http://kuer.org Kelly Excommunicated from LDS Church Utah Newspaper Project Files Lawsuit in Federal Court http://kuer.org/post/utah-newspaper-project-files-lawsuit-federal-court <p></p><p>The Utah Newspaper Project filed a lawsuit today in federal court against the Deseret News and Digital First Media, the parent company of the Salt Lake Tribune. They contend that the joint operating agreement shared by both newspapers violates federal law.</p> Tue, 17 Jun 2014 07:31:51 +0000 Terry Gildea 47905 at http://kuer.org Utah Newspaper Project Files Lawsuit in Federal Court Ground Broken on New Children's Cancer Research Facility http://kuer.org/post/ground-broken-new-childrens-cancer-research-facility <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Dignitaries and religious leaders gathered at the Huntsman Cancer Institute today to break ground on a new research center that will be dedicated to fighting cancers that affect children.&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 22:41:00 +0000 Terry Gildea 47458 at http://kuer.org Ground Broken on New Children's Cancer Research Facility Jon Huntsman Sr. Interested in Buying the Salt Lake Tribune http://kuer.org/post/jon-huntsman-sr-interested-buying-salt-lake-tribune <p></p><p>Ending months of speculation, Jon Huntsman Sr. acknowledged today that he is interested in buying the Salt Lake Tribune. &nbsp;</p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 22:33:04 +0000 Terry Gildea 47457 at http://kuer.org BLM Releases Report on Little Valley Wash Oil Spill http://kuer.org/post/blm-releases-report-little-valley-wash-oil-spill <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">This week, the Bureau of Land Management released a final report on an oil spill that occurred near Grand Staircase Escalante National Monument.&nbsp;</span></p> Wed, 04 Jun 2014 23:50:39 +0000 Terry Gildea 47336 at http://kuer.org BLM Releases Report on Little Valley Wash Oil Spill Vandals Deface Pre-Historic Rock Art http://kuer.org/post/vandals-deface-pre-historic-rock-art <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Over the weekend, vandals defaced&nbsp; an area of Nine Mile Canyon that contains rock art dating back more than thousand years.&nbsp;</span></p> Tue, 27 May 2014 22:42:10 +0000 Terry Gildea 46941 at http://kuer.org Vandals Deface Pre-Historic Rock Art Dabakis Hopes DC Trip Will Help Save the Tribune http://kuer.org/post/dabakis-hopes-dc-trip-will-help-save-tribune <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Utah State Senator Jim Dabakis is leading an effort to salvage the financial future of the Salt Lake Tribune and next month he’ll be taking his message to Washington, DC.&nbsp;</span></p> Fri, 23 May 2014 23:38:45 +0000 Terry Gildea 46786 at http://kuer.org Dabakis Hopes DC Trip Will Help Save the Tribune One Utah Gay Marriage Ruling Could Influence the Other http://kuer.org/post/one-utah-gay-marriage-ruling-could-influence-other <p></p><p>A day after a federal district court judge ordered the state to recognize same sex marriages that took place in Utah, legal scholars are wondering how another pending gay marriage case may influence an appeal to this latest ruling.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 21 May 2014 17:36:40 +0000 Terry Gildea 46642 at http://kuer.org Judge Rules Utah Must Recognize Same-Sex Marriages http://kuer.org/post/judge-rules-utah-must-recognize-same-sex-marriages <p></p><p><em>UPDATED AT 10:30 P.M. 5/19/14.</em></p><p style="margin: 0in 0in 11.25pt; line-height: 16.5pt; vertical-align: baseline; background-position: initial initial; background-repeat: initial initial;"><span style="font-size:11.5pt;font-family:&quot;Georgia&quot;,&quot;serif&quot;;color:#333333">A federal judge ruled on Monday that Utah must recognize more than 1,000 same-sex couples who married in the state during a brief period of time when such marriages were legal.&nbsp;<o:p></o:p></span></p> Tue, 20 May 2014 00:04:35 +0000 Andrea Smardon & Terry Gildea 46544 at http://kuer.org Judge Rules Utah Must Recognize Same-Sex Marriages Utah Supreme Court Halts Same-Sex Couple Adoption Cases http://kuer.org/post/utah-supreme-court-halts-same-sex-couple-adoption-cases <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Utah Supreme Court ordered a temporary halt of several same-sex adoption cases until state justices can determine whether those adoptions are legal. &nbsp;</span></p> Sat, 17 May 2014 17:01:38 +0000 Terry Gildea 46445 at http://kuer.org Utah Supreme Court Halts Same-Sex Couple Adoption Cases Lieberman Scheduled to Speak in Salt Lake City http://kuer.org/post/lieberman-scheduled-speak-salt-lake-city <p></p> Wed, 14 May 2014 13:30:00 +0000 Terry Gildea 46258 at http://kuer.org Lieberman Scheduled to Speak in Salt Lake City ATV Protest on Federal Land Peaceful So Far http://kuer.org/post/atv-protest-federal-land-peaceful-so-far <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A local public official in southeastern Utah led a protest on federal land today against the Bureau of Land Management.&nbsp;</span></p><p>The group rode all-terrain-vehicles into Recapture Canyon located in Utah’s four corners region. The BLM closed off access to the canyon about seven years ago to protect Native American burial sites.&nbsp; San Juan County Commissioner Phil Lyman led the group into the canyon.&nbsp; He says protesters don’t recognize the authority of the federal government.</p> Sat, 10 May 2014 21:21:29 +0000 Judy Fahys & Terry Gildea 46111 at http://kuer.org ATV Protest on Federal Land Peaceful So Far Deseret News Refuses to Run Utah Newspaper Project Ad http://kuer.org/post/deseret-news-refuses-run-utah-newspaper-project-ad <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A group concerned about the future of the Salt Lake Tribune submitted an ad to both of the city’s daily newspapers to run on Saturday morning. But readers won’t see it in the Deseret News.&nbsp;</span></p> Fri, 02 May 2014 23:20:08 +0000 Terry Gildea 45776 at http://kuer.org Deseret News Refuses to Run Utah Newspaper Project Ad Dabakis Looks Back on Tenure as Democratic Party Chair http://kuer.org/post/dabakis-looks-back-tenure-democratic-party-chair <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">On Saturday, Republicans and Democrats across Utah will gather at state party conventions to nominate candidates for the mid-term elections. But one party will also be choosing a new leader.&nbsp; Jim Dabakis&nbsp; ended his nearly three year tenure as chairman of the Utah Democratic Party last month. The veteran politician sat down with KUER's Terry Gildea&nbsp;and reflected on his experience leading Utah's minority party.</span></p> Fri, 25 Apr 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Terry Gildea 45317 at http://kuer.org Dabakis Looks Back on Tenure as Democratic Party Chair Arguments Heard in Oklahoma's Gay Marriage Appeal http://kuer.org/post/arguments-heard-oklahomas-gay-marriage-appeal <p></p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 22:46:47 +0000 Terry Gildea 45022 at http://kuer.org Arguments Heard in Oklahoma's Gay Marriage Appeal Utah Gay Marriage Appeal Argued before Tenth Circuit http://kuer.org/post/utah-gay-marriage-appeal-argued-tenth-circuit <p></p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 23:38:07 +0000 Terry Gildea 44699 at http://kuer.org Utah Gay Marriage Appeal Argued before Tenth Circuit Federal Court To Hear Utah's Appeal In Same-Sex Marriage Case http://kuer.org/post/federal-court-hear-utahs-appeal-same-sex-marriage-case <p></p><p>Utah’s law banning same sex marriage will be considered by a three judge panel in the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals on Thursday.&nbsp; Last year, a federal district court judge overturned the law and the U.S. Supreme Court stayed that decision. Since then, similar laws in several other states have been toppled in federal courts, but Utah is the first state to argue an appeal. &nbsp;</p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 16:11:26 +0000 Terry Gildea 44665 at http://kuer.org Federal Court To Hear Utah's Appeal In Same-Sex Marriage Case Court To Hear Utah's Appeal In Same-Sex Marriage Case http://kuer.org/post/court-hear-utahs-appeal-same-sex-marriage-case Same-sex marriage in Utah goes before a federal appeals court on Thursday. A three-judge panel will hear Utah's appeal of a lower court ruling that struck down the state's gay marriage ban. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 09:19:00 +0000 Terry Gildea 44652 at http://kuer.org Candidates File to Run in Utah’s Second Congressional District http://kuer.org/post/candidates-file-run-utah-s-second-congressional-district <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">As the deadline looms, several candidates filed to run for the congressional seat in Utah’s second district this week including the Republican incumbent and the potential Democratic front-runner. &nbsp;</span></p><p>On Wednesday morning, Republican Congressman Chris Stewart met with reporters at the state Capitol as he filed his paperwork to run for re-election. The incumbent won his seat in the 2012 election with more than 60 percent of the vote and he’s confident he’ll post similar numbers when voters turn out in November.</p> Thu, 20 Mar 2014 21:17:04 +0000 Terry Gildea 43680 at http://kuer.org Candidates File to Run in Utah’s Second Congressional District Matheson Addresses Legislature for the Last Time as a Utah Congressman http://kuer.org/post/matheson-addresses-legislature-last-time-utah-congressman <p></p><p>Democratic Congressman Jim Matheson addressed members of the Utah House and Senate on Thursday.&nbsp; For now, it is the lawmaker’s last visit to the Capitol as a member of the state congressional delegation.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Congressman </span>Matheson<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> began his speech in the Utah House describing a political atmosphere in Washington, DC that is so partisan that un ending gridlock is the status quo. He says voters are fed up a congress that can’t get work together.</span></p> Thu, 20 Feb 2014 22:57:14 +0000 Terry Gildea 42415 at http://kuer.org Matheson Addresses Legislature for the Last Time as a Utah Congressman Utah House Passes 'Revenge Porn' Bill http://kuer.org/post/utah-house-passes-revenge-porn-bill <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Lawmakers in the Utah House passed a bill on Friday, making it a crime for a person to distribute intimate images of others with the intent to harm them.&nbsp;</span></p> Sat, 15 Feb 2014 00:18:37 +0000 Terry Gildea 42186 at http://kuer.org Utah House Passes 'Revenge Porn' Bill Bill To Modify Caucus System Clears Hurdle in State Senate http://kuer.org/post/bill-modify-caucus-system-clears-hurdle-state-senate <p>A bill that would force political parties in Utah to change the current caucus and primary system cleared a hurdle in a Senate committee on Friday. &nbsp;SB 54 would mandate that parties raise the threshold for office nominations to 65 percent of the delegate vote – up from 60 percent.&nbsp; It would force parties to allow absentee voting at neighborhood caucus meetings and state party conventions. Sat, 15 Feb 2014 00:10:28 +0000 Terry Gildea 42185 at http://kuer.org Bill To Modify Caucus System Clears Hurdle in State Senate Bill Would Mandate How Cities Use a Portion of Beer Tax Revenue http://kuer.org/post/bill-would-mandate-how-cities-use-portion-beer-tax-revenue <p></p><p>A bill passed the Utah House Thursday that would require cities and towns to use some beer tax revenue on alcohol treatment and prevention programs.&nbsp;</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Forty percent of the money generated from beer and alcohol sales goes to municipalities in Utah and only about four percent of that money is spent on programs that combat underage drinking. Cache County Republican Representative Jack </span>Draxler<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> wants to change that.</span></p> Fri, 07 Feb 2014 17:00:38 +0000 Terry Gildea 41828 at http://kuer.org Bill Would Mandate How Cities Use a Portion of Beer Tax Revenue KUER Coverage of the 2014 State of the State Address http://kuer.org/post/kuer-coverage-2014-state-state-address <p></p><p>On Wednesday night, Governor Gary Herbert delivered his 2014 State of the State Address at the Utah Capitol. &nbsp;The audio of the &nbsp;speech and our coverage is attached above. Shortly after the address the Utah Democratic Party released a statement reacting to the Governor's speech. &nbsp;That statement is below:</p><p>UTAH DEMOCRATS TO HERBERT: THE DEVIL IS IN THE DETAILS</p> Thu, 30 Jan 2014 03:30:30 +0000 Terry Gildea 41451 at http://kuer.org KUER Coverage of the 2014 State of the State Address Lawmaker Wants to Allow Taxpayers to Contribute to Amendment 3 Defense http://kuer.org/post/lawmaker-wants-allow-taxpayers-contribute-amendment-3-defense <p></p><p>A Republican state lawmaker from Tooele&nbsp;County is proposing legislation that would help fund the state’s defense of its law banning gay marriage.&nbsp;</p><p>Representative Merrill Nelson’s bill would create a box on the state income tax form and allow state residents to give a portion of their tax refunds to the cause.&nbsp; &nbsp;Nelson says people on both sides of the issue could benefit from his legislation.</p> Tue, 28 Jan 2014 22:24:32 +0000 Terry Gildea 41392 at http://kuer.org Lawmaker Wants to Allow Taxpayers to Contribute to Amendment 3 Defense U.S. Supreme Court Halts Gay Marriage in Utah http://kuer.org/post/us-supreme-court-halts-gay-marriage-utah <p>The <a href="https://sblog.s3.amazonaws.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/13A687_Herber_v_Kitchen_Order1.pdf" target="_blank">U.S. Supreme Court</a> granted Utah’s request to stay a federal judge’s ruling that overturned the state’s law banning same-sex marriage.&nbsp; The stay effectively stops county clerks from issuing any more marriage licenses to gay couples for now.</p> Mon, 06 Jan 2014 20:58:00 +0000 Terry Gildea & Brian Grimmett 40459 at http://kuer.org U.S. Supreme Court Halts Gay Marriage in Utah